Contact Volunteer Coordinators

Press Room

 

Green Up Day By the Numbers:
Number of volunteers: more than 22,000
Number of Green Up Day bags distributed: more than 56,000
Number of tons of trash collected: 200 to 300 tons annually
Number of tires collected: more than 6,000 annually
Number of town roads miles to be cleaned on Green Up day: 13,087 (the State cleans our 2,707 miles of Vermont highways)
Number of towns that have reported illegal dumpsites: 70


2018 Media Coverage 

Poster and Writing Contests:

Caledonian Record: http://www.caledonianrecord.com/features/school/green-up-vermont-annual-student-contests-for-writing-and-poster/article_af88789e-9f15-599b-b8ed-b3ccc32992a7.html

VTDigger: https://vtdigger.org/2018/02/09/green-vermont-poster-contest-winners-announced/

Vermont Journal: http://vermontjournal.com/news/green-vermont-annual-student-contests-writing-poster-design

Vermont Standard: https://www.thevermontstandard.com/2018/01/green-up-vt-launches-annual-student-contests/

WCAX: http://www.wcax.com/content/news/Vt-school-children-invited-to-submit-Green-Up-ideas-468251273.html

Green Up Day

Addison County Independent: 

https://www.addisonindependent.com/201805monkton-news-may-3 

http://www.addisonindependent.com/201805lincoln-news-may-3

https://www.addisonindependent.com/201805annual-birthday-bash-pickin-trash

AP: https://www.usnews.com/news/best-states/vermont/articles/2018-05-05/thousands-pick-up-litter-saturday-during-green-up-day

Bennington Banner: http://www.benningtonbanner.com/stories/green-up-day-arrives-on-may-5,538719  

Brattleboro Reformer: http://www.reformer.com/stories/our-opinion-tired-of-tires-time-to-clean-up,537479 

Burlington Free Press: https://www.burlingtonfreepress.com/story/news/local/2018/05/03/burlington-area-coders-make-mobile-app-vermonts-2018-green-up-day/578017002/ 

Brattleboro Reformer: http://www.reformer.com/stories/green-up-day-vermont-is-set-for-may-5,537720 

Fox 44 & ABC 22: 

http://www.mychamplainvalley.com/news/47th-annual-green-up-day/1162074304 

http://www.mychamplainvalley.com/news/gearing-up-to-green-up-vermont-on-saturday-may-5th/1154898365

Milton Independent: https://www.miltonindependent.com/letters-editor-april-19-2018/ 

Mountain Times: http://mountaintimes.info/green-up-day/  

News and Citizen: http://www.stowetoday.com/news_and_citizen/news/local_news/green-up-day-saturday-may/article_72b9a07c-4efb-11e8-a42b-17723cfde2d9.html  

Rutland Herald: https://www.rutlandherald.com/articles/sweeping-this-state-clean-green-up-day-is-back/  

Shelburne News: 

http://www.shelburnenews.com/2018/04/26/sign-pitch-green-day-may-5/

http://www.shelburnenews.com/2018/05/03/green-shelburne-saturday/ 

http://www.shelburnenews.com/2018/05/03/begun-gov-deane-davis-vermont-green-continues-saturday/

Stowe Reporter: http://www.stowetoday.com/stowe_reporter/news/local_news/green-up-day-saturday-may/article_9037f1ca-4ed9-11e8-adc2-abe10429ad17.html

Valley News: http://www.vnews.com/Out-and-About-Ready-Set-Pick-Up-Trash--Green-Up-Day-Is-This-Saturday-17232160 

VTDigger: 

https://vtdigger.org/2018/04/27/vermont-students-install-litter-art-show-burlington-international-airport/ 

https://vtdigger.org/2018/04/17/green-day-always-first-saturday-may-may-5th-2018/ 

https://vtdigger.org/2018/05/03/burlington-mayor-students-encourage-participation-green-day-efforts-saturday/

https://vtdigger.org/2018/05/07/jules-rabin-green-bag-pointed-stick/ 

Waterbury Record: http://www.stowetoday.com/waterbury_record/news/local_news/green-up-vermont-this-saturday/article_a83ff2e4-4f07-11e8-9ca3-57398eef8867.html 

WCAX: http://www.wcax.com/content/news/Green-Up-Day-gets-a-new-app-481841161.html 

Williston Observer: http://www.willistonobserver.com/get-out-get-the-app-and-green-up/

WPTZ: http://www.mynbc5.com/article/nbc5-editorial-thousands-to-gather-to-clean-up-the-area/20167094